Theatre In DC 
Your Source For What's On Stage In DC 

   Quick Search
OR
Search by date:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Elf The Musical at Olney Theatre Center

Elf The Musical

Olney Theatre Center
2001 Olney-Sandy Spring Rd. Olney

Take a hilarious hit movie, add in some seriously impressive song-and-dance numbers, and tie a big Broadway bow around it, and you've got the sweet family treat known as Elf The Musical. Fasten your sleigh belts for a fun ride that follows the story of Buddy, who as a little boy mistakenly crawls into Santa's bag of gifts and is transported back to the North Pole, where he's raised as an elf. He grows up unaware that he's an actual human, but his enormous size and poor toy-making abilities eventually force him to face the truth. With Santa's permission, Buddy sets off on a journey to New York to find his birth father, discover his true identity and help the city remember the true meaning of Christmas -- and this sparkling holiday show, coming to the stage of the Olney Theatre Center - Mainstage, will no doubt do the same for you and yours.

Thru - Jan 6, 2019

Wed, Dec 12: 2:00pm & 8:00pm
Thu, Dec 13: 8:00pm
Fri, Dec 14: 8:00pm
Sat, Dec 15: 2:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Dec 16: 2:00pm
Wed, Dec 19: 8:00pm
Thu, Dec 20: 8:00pm
Fri, Dec 21: 2:00pm & 8:00pm
Sat, Dec 22: 2:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Dec 23: 2:00pm
Wed, Dec 26: 2:00pm & 8:00pm
Thu, Dec 27: 8:00pm
Fri, Dec 28: 8:00pm
Sat, Dec 29: 2:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Dec 30: 2:00pm
Mon, Dec 31: 2:00pm
Thu, Jan 3: 8:00pm
Fri, Jan 4: 8:00pm
Sat, Jan 5: 2:00pm & 8:00pm
Sun, Jan 6: 2:00pm


Box Office: 301-924-3400

olneytheatre.org/


Click Here for Half-Price Tickets


Olney Theatre Center Seating Charts


  Elf The Musical Reviews
  • Highly Recommended
  • Recommended
  • Somewhat Recommended
  • Not Recommended

Washington Post - Somewhat Recommended

"...There’s a big, bright ice-blue set by Daniel Ettinger, choreography with an interesting playground stunt or two by Tara Jeanne Vallee, a nine-piece orchestra out of sight under the stage, actors on their knees playing elves at the North Pole, and actors in candy-cane tights playing elves in Macy’s. Director Michael J. Bobbitt makes sure the show’s batteries are fully charged, but it’s dispiritingly generic even for kids, and there’s nothing here for adults."
Read Full Review

Nelson Pressley


DC Metro Theater Arts - Highly Recommended

"...Elf the Musical teaches about trust, the importance of family, and the pay-it-forward effects of positivity and joy. Olney has created a stellar production that will entertain the young and old, inspiring good deeds and encouraging faith in the great potential of humankind to be generous, loving, and kind to each other and the world around us."
Read Full Review

Kendall Mostafavi


MD Theatre Guide - Highly Recommended

"...Olney Theatre’s production of “Elf The Musical” is high-quality entertainment for the entire family. And remember, “The best way to spread Christmas Cheer, is singing loud for all to hear.”"
Read Full Review

Mark Beachy


DCTheatreScene - Recommended

"...If there’s one thing you’ll take away from Olney Theatre Center’s Elf the Musical it’s this: the DC musical theater scene has a tremendous talent base. To a one, Elf’s largely ensemble cast give some of the most enjoyable, high-energy and top-caliber performances I have seen in the area. And the performers in this movie-turned-stage musical don’t just sing and dance (but boy, can they)—under the skilled direction of Michael Bobbitt and choreographer Tara Vallee, they juggle, jump rope, roller skate and wow the audience with acrobatic feats. The result is a holiday spectacle nothing short of spectacular."
Read Full Review

Meaghan Hannan Davant


  Elf The Musical Photo Gallery


Follow Us On Twitter